The Mystery

Now to Him that is of power to stablish you according to my gospel, and the preaching of Jesus Christ, according to the Revelation of the Mystery, which was kept secret since the world began (Romans 16:25).

Paul’s gospel was firmly centered in the “preaching” (i.e., proclaiming) of Jesus Christ. Yet Paul did not merely proclaim Jesus Christ based on His earthly ministry as recorded in the four “Gospels” of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. Instead, he proclaimed Jesus Christ based upon an advancement in truth from God: a progression known as “the Revelation of the Mystery.”

Why Is It Called THE MYSTERY?

Because It Was Kept Secret.

… The Revelation of the Mystery, which was kept secret since the world began (Romans 16:25).

Because It Was Hid in God.

… The fellowship of the Mystery, which from the beginning of the world hath been hid in God … (Ephesians 3:9).

Because It Was Hid from Ages and from Generations.

Even the Mystery which hath been hid from ages and from generations … (Colossians 1:26).

Which in other ages was not made known unto the sons of men … (Ephesians 3:5).

Because It Had Been Unsearchable.

… That I should preach among the Gentiles the unsearchable riches of Christ (Ephesians 3:8).

Paul’s message was “unsearchable,” i.e., it was untraceable – unlocatable – in the rest of Scripture. (For a further look at THE MYSTERY study the following references: Ephesians 1:9; 3:3-4; 6:19; Colossians 4:3; I Timothy 3:9.)

Where Did THE MYSTERY Originate?

It Came as a Direct, Divine Revelation.

I certify you, brethren, that the gospel which was preached of me is not after man. For I neither received it of man, neither was I taught it, but by The Revelation of Jesus Christ (Galatians 1:11-12).

… By revelation He made known unto me the Mystery … (Ephesians 3:3).

… I will come to visions and revelations of the Lord … the abundance of the revelations … (II Corinthians 12:1, 7).

The last words of the Lord Jesus Christ are not recorded in the book of Acts (chapter one).

To Whom Was THE MYSTERY Revealed?

Paul Was the Recipient of THE MYSTERY.

… The gospel of the uncircumcision was committed unto me … (Galatians 2:7).

… The dispensation of the grace of God which is given me … (Ephesians 3:2).

… The dispensation of God which is given to me … (Colossians 1:25).

… The gospel which was preached of me is not after man … (Galatians 1:11).

Paul wrote down the words concerning our Lord Jesus Christ (I Timothy 6:3) for the Body of Christ in this dispensation of Grace (Ephesians 3:2). Paul was an apostle of the Lord (Galatians 1:15-16; 2:8; Acts 9:15; I Timothy 2:7; II Timothy 1:11; Acts 26:16-17; Romans 11:13; 15:16).

Clyde L. Pilkington, Jr.
Bible Student’s Notebook

Explore posts in the same categories: Dispensational

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment